SDTA Memorial Scholarships Awarded

The South Dakota Telecommunications Association (SDTA) has awarded two scholarships to South Dakota students for the 2020-2021 school year. Matthew Daugaard of Hoven and Jackson Liewer of Burke both received a $2,000 scholarship.   

Daugaard is pursuing an engineering degree from South Dakota School of Mines & Technology. Liewer is pursing a degree in cybersecurity from Dakota State University.

The scholarship award is based upon academic performance and responses to the application essay questions. The scholarship can be used at any post-secondary educational institution in South Dakota, including public and private universities, technical colleges, and community colleges.

The SDTA Memorial Scholarship program began with a single $300 scholarship in 1987. Since the scholarship fund was established, $85,000 has been awarded and 97 South Dakota students have received financial assistance with their post-secondary education.   

            For information about the SDTA Memorial Scholarship Program, contact the SDTA office at 605-224-7629 or