2019 Brian Meyer Memorial Scholarship Application Available

Brian Meyer Scholarships available for 2019 spring semester
The South Dakota Telecommunications Association (SDTA) is now accepting applications for the Brian Meyer Memorial Scholarship. Two scholarships in the amounts of $1,250 and $500 will be awarded for the 2019 spring semester.

The scholarship is available to applicants who have completed at least two semesters of course work at an accredited post-secondary school in South Dakota. The applicant or applicant’s family must be a subscriber of an SDTA member company. The scholarship can be used at any post-secondary educational institution in South Dakota including public and private universities as well as technical schools.

Applicants must complete an application, write a short outline of their career plans following completion of their post-secondary education, and submit a brief essay on the future of small town South Dakota and what can be done to enhance the quality of life in rural areas using broadband/high speed Internet technology. Also needed are a copy of the applicant’s most recent transcript and at least two letters of recommendation. The deadline to apply for the Brian Meyer Memorial Scholarship is October 30.

For more information on the Brian Meyer Memorial Scholarship, contact any post-secondary institution financial aid office, the South Dakota Telecommunications Association at 605-224-7629 or admin@sdtaonline.com. The application is also available online at www.sdtaonline.com/resources/scholarships.

SDTA membership is composed of the state’s member-owned cooperatives, privately-owned, municipal and tribal telecommunications companies which collectively serve almost 75% of the state. Members of the South Dakota Telecommunications Association are: Alliance Communications (Garretson); Beresford Municipal Telephone (Beresford); Cheyenne River Sioux Tribe Telephone Authority (Eagle Butte); Faith Municipal Telephone; Fort Randall Telephone (Wagner); Golden West Telecommunications Companies (Wall); Interstate Telecommunications (Clear Lake); James Valley Telecommunications (Groton); Kennebec Telephone Company (Kennebec); Midstate Communications (Kimball); RC Technologies (New Effington); Santel Communications (Woonsocket); Swiftel Communications (Brookings); TrioTel Communications (Salem); Valley Telecommunications (Herreid); Venture Communications (Highmore); West River Cooperative Telephone (Bison); and West River Telecommunications Cooperative (Hazen, ND).